Elisabeth Schimana

© Reinhard Mayr

© Reinhard Mayr

Since the 1980s the musician and composer Elisabeth Schimana has been active as one of the Austrian female pioneers of electronic music with projects marked by a radical approach and equally unconventional aesthetics.

After completing vocal training, she earned degrees in composition, computer music, musicology, and ethnology. She has worked intensively with the theremin in Moscow and with the Max Brand Synthesizer in Vienna. Not only has she created countless radio works in cooperation with ORF Kunstradio but numerous sound installations and interdisciplinary and performative projects as well. Her concepts for experimental set-ups fathom the social field and put to the test new ways of interacting musically on the Internet.

In her artistic work, Schimana examines questions of space, communication, or the body in its presence or absence, especially the imparting of compositional concepts (scores), which gives rise to completely new approaches that experimentally explore how we hear and demand a heightened musical presence on the part of the performer. Her probing approach also led her to found the IMA Institute of Media Archeology, which has dedicated itself to acoustic media at the analogue/digital interface and to the subject of women, art, and technology since 2005.

Schimana’s award-winning and internationally performed work spans the gamut of composition and free playing, is inextricably bound to her as a live performer, makes reference to historical positions, but resists all attempts at categorization, and stands out, strikingly and reduced, with tremendous intensity.(Milena Meller)

elise.at

Elisabeth Schimana

© Reinhard Mayr

© Reinhard Mayr

Die Musikerin und Komponistin Elisabeth Schimana ist seit den 1980er Jahren als eine der österreichischen Pionierinnen der elektronischen Musik mit Projekten präsent, die sich durch einen radikalen Ansatz und eine ebensolche Ästhetik auszeichnen.

Nach einer Gesangsausbildung absolviert sie Studien in Komposition, Computermusik, Musikwissenschaft und Völkerkunde, befasst sich in Moskau intensiv mit dem Theremin und in Wien mit dem Max Brand Synthesizer. Sie kreiert zahlreiche Radioarbeiten in Kooperation mit dem ORF-Kunstradio sowie Klanginstallationen, interdisziplinäre und performative Projekte und konzipiert Versuchsanordnungen im sozialen Feld sowie solche, die neue Wege musikalischer Interaktion im Internet erproben.

Schimana untersucht in ihrer künstlerischen Arbeit Fragen des Raums, der Kommunikation oder des Körpers in seiner An- bzw. Abwesenheit, insbesondere die Vermittlung kompositorischer Konzepte (Partituren), was zu völlig neuen Ansätzen führt, die das Hören experimentell ausloten und eine erhöhte musizierende Präsenz erfordern. Ihr forschender Zugang hat auch die Gründung des IMA Institut für Medienarchäologie zur Folge, das sich seit 2005 den akustischen Medien an der Schnittstelle analog/digital, sowie dem Thema Frauen, Kunst und Technologie widmet.

Schimanas mehrfach ausgezeichnete und international rezipierte Arbeit steht im Spannungsfeld von Komposition und freiem Spiel, nicht zu trennen von ihr als live Agierender, bezieht sich auf historische Positionen, verweigert sich aber jeglicher Vereinnahmung und besticht, eindringlich und reduziert, mit hoher Intensität.(Milena Meller)

elise.at