Festival IMAkusmonium

IMA-Akusmonium-st-poelten-2016THU 24 11 2016 – SAT 26 11 2016 | Voith Werke | Halle 88, Linzer Strasse 55, St.Pölten
In cooperation with ACP (The Acousmatic Project), Heroines Of Sound and Voith
Tickets € 14 / € 9
Festivalpass € 24

This year´s festival IMAkusmonium in St.Pölten, placed in an industrial building at the voith werke, with the wiener akusmonium, presents a wide range of electronic and acusmatic music.

THU 24 11 2016 photo gallery
audio (Günther Rabl, Electric Indigo, Thomas Gorbach)

18:30 works of the workshop participants
19:00 artist talk moderated by Heinrich Deisl
Break
20:00 Electric Indigo | 109.47 degrees (2014),Thomas Gorbach | Four variations with ripped sounds (2014), Elisabeth Schimana | Into the Sun (2016)
21:00 Break
21:15 Günther Rabl | GAMMA (2014-2015)

FRI 25 11 2016 photo gallery
audio (Kirsten Reese, Elisabeth Schimana, Dieter Kaufmann)
18:30 works of the workshop participants
19:00 artist talk moderated by Heinrich Deisl
Break
20:00 Kirsten Reese | Deckkraft/opacity (2011), Andrea Sodomka | metavoices (2016) , Thomas Gorbach | VIOLA SILVESTRIS (2015), Elisabeth Schimana | Weave (1995)
21:00 Break
21:15 Dieter Kaufmann | Symphony Acousmatique (1669-2007) interpreted by Thomas Gorbach

SAT 26 11 2016 photo gallery
audio (Heidrun Schramm, Peter Szely)
18:30 works of the workshop participants
19:00 artist talk moderated by Heinrich Deisl
Break
20:00 Peter Szely | Tectonics (2003), Heidrun Schramm | “Tuned” (2015), Mauricio Valdes | Santa Muerte:Holy Death (2015)
21:00 Break
21:15 music from brasil: Flo Menezes | Fond d`erreurs (2016)
Tiago Gati | O interno distante (2011), Vánia Dantas Leite | Sforzato/Piano (1994), Alex Buck | Pendulum (2014) interpreted from Flo Menezes

Team festival: curators: Elisabeth Schimana & Bettina Wackernagel | producer: Peter Szely | web editor: Mathias Schimana | grapic design: FOX Medialab & design, Andreas Rathmanner | PR & press: art:phalanx | translation english: Kimi Lum | acousmonium: Thomas Gorbach | technique: Tobias Schubert

Akusmonium_Kuppelsaal_2015©Julia_Tazreiter_wThe Vienna Acousmonium Thomas Gorbach
is an instrument for interpreting computer-generated works and for producing ephemeral dynamically moving sound sculptures. Since 2010 Thomas Gorbach has continued to develop this instrument in conjunction with his concert series ‘The Acousmatic Project’. It is an orchestra of loudspeakers for interpreting stored music but also for the spatialization of music by artists working in the areas of improvisation and conceptual art. Based on the experiences gleaned from the acousmonium of Musiques & Recherches in Brussels, the acousmonium of GRM (Groupe de Recherches Musicales) in Paris, and the MAAST System in Kent/UK, Gorbach has developed a loudspeaker configuration and control unit that make the Vienna Acousmonium an instrument unique to its genre.

The Vienna Acousmonium with its 32 loudspeakers of varying sound qualities installed with the intention of creating the illusion of depth of field offers the best conditions for understanding virtual sounds. The aspect of the ‘space in the sound’ becomes experienceable.

Pierre Schaeffer: ‘sound object’ (objet sonore)
The pioneer of electroacoustic music, Pierre Schaeffer, coined the term sound object to refer to electronic sound events that cannot be described by notes.

Annette Vande Gorne: ‘spatial figures’ (figures d’espace)
In the sequence of the sound objects the composers of GRM recognized that a connecting element was missing. Thus Francois Bayle, Schaeffer’s first and most important student, introduced the concept of the course of playing and implemented it in his works. Corresponding to this, Annette Vande Gorne, another one of Schaeffer’s students, has developed a technique that translates the music of these connected sound objects, acousmatic sound, to playing at the console of the acousmonium. Many of the names of the various techniques, such as cross-fading, revealing, emphasizing, flickering, etc. have been borrowed from the field of film editing.

Thomas Gorbach: ‘movement of sound in space’
In my search for a conclusive technique for interpretation on the acousmonium two aspects have emerged in connection with working with electronic sound: on the one hand, sound qualities like roughness or smoothness, proximity and distance, accent and echo, colorfulness or proportion of static, etc. and on the other hand, the development within a sound, which I call the spatial aspect of a sound. The tension between sound quality and spatial information produces a conclusive set of instructions for interpretation. This can be notated and serves as the point of departure for playing the acousmonium.

ima-akusmonium-sponsor-footer

Festival IMAkusmonium

IMA-Akusmonium-st-poelten-2016DO 24 11 2016 – SA 26 11 2016 | Voith Werke | Halle 88, Linzer Strasse 55, St.Pölten
In Kooperation mit ACP (The Acousmatic Project), Heroines Of Sound und Voith
Tagesticket € 14 / € 9
Festivalpass € 24

Das diesjährige Festival IMAkusmonium in St. Pölten, in einer Industriehalle der Voith Werke, mit dem Wiener Akusmonium präsentiert ein breites Spektrum elektronischer, akusmatischer Musik.

DO 24 11 2016 Fotogalerie
Audio (Günther Rabl, Electric Indigo, Thomas Gorbach)

18:30 Werke der WorkshopteilnehmerInnen
19:00 KünstlerInnengespräch moderiert von Heinrich Deisl
Pause
20:00 Electric Indigo | 109.47 degrees (2014), Thomas Gorbach | Vier Variationen für einen gerippten Klang (2014), Elisabeth Schimana | In die Sonne (2016)
21:00 Pause
21:15 Günther Rabl | GAMMA (2014-2015)


FR 25 11 2016 Fotogalerie
Audio (Kirsten Reese, Elisabeth Schimana, Dieter Kaufmann)
18:30 Werke der WorkshopteilnehmerInnen
19:00 KünstlerInnengespräch moderiert von Heinrich Deisl
Pause
20:00 Kirsten Reese | Deckkraft/opacity (2011), Andrea Sodomka | metavoices (2016), Thomas Gorbach | VIOLA SYLVESTRIS (2015), Elisabeth Schimana | Weave (1995) interpretiert von Thomas Gorbach,
21:00 Pause
21:15 Dieter Kaufmann | Symphonie Acousmatique (1669-2007) interpretiert von Thomas Gorbach

SA 26 11 2016 Fotogalerie
Audio (Heidrun Schramm, Peter Szely)
18:30 Werke der WorkshopteilnehmerInnen
19:00 KünstlerInnengespräch moderiert von Heinrich Deisl
Pause
20:00 Peter Szely | Tectonics (2003), Heidrun Schramm | “Tuned” (2015), Mauricio Valdes | Santa Muerte:Holy Death (2015)
21:00 Pause
21:15 Musik aus Brasilien: Flo Menezes | Fond d`erreurs (2016)
Tiago Gati | O interno distante (2011), Vánia Dantas Leite | Sforzato/Piano (1994), Alex Buck | Pendulum (2014) interpretiert von Flo Menezes

Team Festival: Kuratorinnen: Elisabeth Schimana & Bettina Wackernagel | Produktion: Peter Szely | Webredaktion: Mathias Schimana | Grafik: FOX Medialab & design, Andreas Rathmanner | PR & Presse: art:phalanx (Susanne Haider, Sandra Voser) | Übersetzung Englisch: Kimi Lum | Akusmonium: Thomas Gorbach | Technik: Tobias Schubert

Akusmonium_Kuppelsaal_2015©Julia_Tazreiter_w Das Wiener Akusmonium Thomas Gorbach
ist ein Instrument zur Interpretation computergenerierter Werke und zur Erzeugung ephemerer dynamisch-bewegter Klangskulpturen, das von Thomas Gorbach im Zusammenhang mit seiner Konzertreihe ‘The Acousmatic Project’ seit 2010 entwickelt wird. Es ist ein Lautsprecherorchester zur Interpretation gespeicherter Musik, aber auch zur Verräumlichung von Musik improvisierender und konzeptionell arbeitender KünstlerInnen. Auf Grund der Erfahrungen die mit dem Akusmonium der Musique & Recherche in Brüssel, dem Akusmonium der GRM (Groupe de Recherches Musicales) in Paris und dem MAAST System in Kent/UK gemacht wurden, hat Gorbach eine Lautsprecherkonfiguration und eine Steuereinheit entwickelt, die das Wiener Akusmonium zu einem einzigartigen Instrument seines Genres macht.

Das Wiener Akusmoium mit seinen 32 Lautsprechern in unterschiedlichen Klangqualitäten, installiert mit der Idee der Tiefenschärfeillusion, bietet die besten Bedingungen für das Verständnis virtueller Klänge. Der Aspekt des ‘Raums im Klang’ wird erfahrbar.

Pierre Schaeffers ‘objet sonore’ (das Klangobjekt)
Der Pionier elektroakustischer Musik Pierre Schaeffer, hat den Begriff des Klangobjekts zur Beschreibung von elektronischen Klangereignissen, die nicht mit Noten beschrieben werden können, erfunden..

Annette Vande Gorne ‘figures d’escpace’ (die Klangraumfiguren)
In der Folge der Klangobjekte haben die KomponistInnen der GRM erkannt, dass in deren Ablauf ein verbindendes Element fehlt. So hat Francois Bayle, der erste und wichtigste Schüler Schaeffers, den Begriff des Spielverlaufs eingeführt und in seinen Werken umgesetzt. Annette Vande Gorne, ebenfalls eine Schülerin von Schaeffer, hat entsprechend dazu eine Technik entwickelt, die die Musik dieser verbundenen Klangobjekte, die Akusmatik, auf das Spiel am Mischpult des Akusmoniums umsetzt. Die Benennung dieser verschiedenen Spielarten wie Überblendung, Enthüllung, Betonung, Flimmern, usw. stammen größtenteils aus dem Filmschnitt.

Thomas Gorbach ‘movement of sound in space’ (Klangraumbewegungen)
Auf meiner Suche nach einer schlüssigen Interpretationstechnik am Akusmoium, haben sich zwei Aspekte in der Arbeit mit elektronischen Klängen herauskristallisiert. Einmal die Klangqualitäten wie Rauigkeit oder Glätte, Nähe und Ferne, Akzent und Nachhall, Farbigkeit oder Rauschanteilig, usw. dann aber auch die Entwicklung im inneren eines Klanges, die ich den Raumaspekt eines Klanges nenne. Aus der Spannung zwischen Klangqualität und Rauminformation ergibt sich eine schlüssige Interpretationsanweisung. Diese kann dann notiert werden und dient als Ausgangspunkt für das Spiel am Akusmonium.

ima-akusmonium-sponsor-footer