IMAfiction

IMAfiction is the Institute’s portrait series dedicated to women artists from the field of media arts with a focus on sonic art.

Until now there are portraits of Liesl Ujvary, Rebekah Wilson aka Netotschka Nezvanova, Heidi Grundmann, Eliane Radigue, Andrea Sodomka, Maryanne Amacher, Anne La Berge and Electric Indigo released.

In her essay “A room of ones own” published in 1928, Virginia Woolf writes about women and fiction. In this context, fiction refers both to narrative literature and the related fictitiousness of the persons whose story is to be told.

“All I could do was to offer you an opinion upon one minor point – a woman must have money and a room of her own if she is to write fiction; and that, as you will see, leaves the great problem of the true nature of woman and the true nature of fiction unsolved. I have shirked the duty of coming to a conclusion upon these two questions – woman and fiction remain, so far as I am concerned, unsolved problems.”

“I need not say that what I am about to describe has no existrance. ‘I’ is only a convenient term for somebody who has no real being. Lies will flow from my lips, but there may perhaps be some truth mixed up with them; it is for you to seek out this truth and to decide wether any part of it is worth keeping.” (Virginia Woolf)

For the purposes of IMA, literature can simply be replaced by media arts or technological art or electronic art or computer art or sound art or radio art or … Today, the core message is as relevant as it was in 1928.

IMAfiction

MAfiction ist die Portraitserie des Institutes die Künstlerinnen aus allen Bereichen der elektronischen Kunst mit einem Fokus auf Klang gewidmet ist. Bisher erschienen sind Portraits von Liesl Ujvary, Rebekah Wilson aka Netotschka Nezvanova, Heidi Grundmann, Eliane Radigue, Andrea Sodomka, Maryanne Amacher, Anne La Berge und Electric Indigo.

Virginia Woolf schreibt in ihrem Essay von 1928 ”a room of ones own” über woman and fiction. Fiction wird hier sowohl als erzählende Literatur als auch die damit verbundenen Fiktivitäten der Personen über die es zu erzählen gilt, verstanden.

“Ich kann ihnen lediglich eine Meinung zu einer Nebensache anbieten – eine Frau muss Geld und ein eigenes Zimmer haben, um schreiben zu können; und das lässt, wie sie sehen werden, die große Frage nach der wahren Natur der Frau und der wahren Natur der Literatur unbeantwortet. Ich habe mich vor der Pflicht gedrückt, in diesen Bereichen zu Schlussfolgerungen zu kommen – Frauen und Literatur bleiben, soweit es mich angeht, ungelöste Probleme.”

“Ich brauche nicht zu sagen, dass Dinge, die ich gleich beschreiben werde, so nicht existieren; …”ich” ist nur ein zweckmäßiges Wort für jemanden, den es nicht wirklich gibt. Lügen werden von meinen Lippen fließen, aber es könnte ihnen vielleicht eine gewisse Wahrheit beigemischt sein; es ist an Ihnen, diese Wahrheit aufzuspüren und zu entscheiden, ob irgendein Teil davon bewahrenswert ist.” (Virginia Woolf)

Literatur kann für die Belange von IMA einfach mit Medienkunst oder technologische Kunst oder elektronische Kunst oder Computerkunst oder Sound Art oder Radiokunst oder….ausgetauscht werden. Der Kern der Sache ist ebenso aktuell wie 1928.