Symposium Entfalten

18 12 2017 Medienwerkstatt Wien 11:00 – 19:00
Registration fee € 20; registration at office[at]ima.or.at

Vortragende:

Gaby Wijers
Strategic importance of re-interpretation for media art Mediation and Conservation

NFOLD: mediation by reinterpretation, is a research project and collaborative, international, interdisciplinary network examining re-interpretation as emerging practice for artistic production, presentation and preservation of media artworks.

Alexandra Schantl
„Reset“ versus „Remake“

I shall discuss the work of museums and curators using specific examples of time-based media art from the State of Lower Austria’s art collection. Particular attention will be given to challenges resulting from the collection’s diverse holdings, such as that of funding. I shall also address various aspects of conservation-restoration.

Claudia Roeck

This presentation deals with the preservation of a computer-based artwork. I investigated preservation strategies that allow for work re-interpretation only in a relatively narrow frame. Nevertheless, questions arise about the core of the work, especially when taking a long-term perspective.

Marlies Surtmann
Archive in Motion. Performance Art and its Continuation

Performance art works with the presence of bodies, should this art form not be preserved and passed on through the body as well? Does it need the physical transfer of knowledge in addition to the media transfers? The transmission of a past event into the present and the future always remains fragmentary. Can re-interpretation serve as a concept for archiving in order to give the possibility of critical examination of the original? This input will give insight into considerations and attempts around the archive in the Kunstraum Niederoesterreich.

Thomas Gorbach

Veronika Liebl

Ars Electronica has one of the world’s most comprehensive archives on digital media art over the past 38 years. It includes an archive of documentaries on the Ars Electronica Festival since 1979, the Prix Ars Electronica Archive with entries submitted by the artists, as well as documentaries on projects of the Ars Electronica Futurelab and on exhibitions of the Ars Electronica Center and Export. Part of the entire archive stock has already been processed, digitized and entered into the online archive.
 
Claudia Slanar

Franziska Butze-Rios

For the past 35 years, State Collections of Lower Austria has been acquiring media art and now owns more than 300 videos and films, video sculptures and installations. While media carriers started of being magnetic, such as U-Matic and VHS cassettes, they soon were replaced by optical media such as CDs and DVDs. In recent years, most acquisitions have been in the format of electronic (data) carriers. As a result of rapidly changing technology and the rapid degradation of materials, media art is extremely time-sensitive. Due to increasing urgency and the steady growth of the collection, a preservation project was carried out in 2014-2016, which laid the groundwork for ongoing development of the conservation of the media art collection. The steps taken and the challenges for the conservation department are described in the presentation.

Axel Stockburger | “translation / read my lips”

Seppo Gründler | WHITEOUT
Elisabeth Schimana

Gerda Lampalzer

Richard Kriesche

Symposium Entfalten

18 12 2017 Medienwerkstatt Wien 11:00 – 19:00
Unkostenbeitrag € 20; Anmeldung unter office[at]ima.or.at

Vortragende:

Gaby Wijers
Strategische Bedeutung von Re-Interpretation für Medienkunst Mediation und Conservation

UNFOLD: mediation by reinterpretation ist ein Forschungsprojekt und ein kooperatives, internationales, interdisziplinäres Netzwerk, das Re-interpretation als neu entstehende Praxis für die künstlerische Produktion, Präsentation und Bewahrung von Medienkunstwerken untersucht.

Alexandra Schantl
„Reset“ versus „Remake“

Ausgehend von der Kunstsammlung des Landes Niederösterreich möchte ich anhand von konkreten Werkbeispielen zeitbasierter Medienkunstwerke die museale und kuratorische Praxis erörtern. In Anbetracht der Heterogenität der Sammlung wird dabei den vielfältigen Problemstellungen und der Frage nach den erforderlichen Ressourcen besonderes Augenmerk gelten. Nicht zuletzt sollen auch Aspekte der Konservierung und Restaurierung zur Diskussion gestellt werden.

Claudia Roeck

Dieser Vortrag befasst sich mit der Erhaltung eines computergenerierten Kunstwerks. Ich habe mich mit Erhaltungsstrategien auseinandergesetzt, die Werk-Re-interpretationen nur in einem engen Rahmen zulassen. Trotzdem stellen sich auch in diesem Rahmen Fragen zum Kern des Werks, insbesonders beim Einnehmen einer Langzeitperspektive.

Marlies Surtmann
Archiv in Bewegung. Performancekunst und ihre Weiterschreibung

Performancekunst arbeitet mit der Präsenz der Körper, sollte diese Kunstform nicht auch über die Körper erhalten, vermittelt und tradiert werden können? Braucht sie neben den medialen Übertragungen auch den physische Wissenstransfer? Die Übertragung eines vergangenen Ereignisses in die Gegenwart und Zukunft bleibt immer fragmentarisch. Kann die Re-interpretation als Begriff für die Archivierung dienlich sein, um auch Raum für eine kritische Auseinandersetzung mit dem Original zulassen zu können? In diesem Redebeitrag gebe ich einen Einblick in Überlegungen und Versuche rund um das Archiv im Kunstraum Niederoesterreich.

Thomas Gorbach

Veronika Liebl

Ars Electronica verfügt über eines der weltweit umfangreichsten Archive zur digitalen Medienkunst der letzten 38 Jahre. Es umfasst ein Archiv mit Dokumentationen zum Ars Electronica Festival seit 1979, das Archiv des Prix Ars Electronica mit den Einreichungen der KünstlerInnen, sowie Dokumentationen zu Projekten des Ars Electronica Futurelab und zu Ausstellungen des Ars Electronica Center und Export. Ein Teil des gesamten Archivbestandes konnte bereits aufgearbeitet, digitalisiert und in das Online Archiv eingepflegt werden.

Claudia Slanar

Franziska Butze-Rios

Seit 35 Jahren sammelt die Kunstsammlung des Landes Niederösterreich Medienkunst und besitzt heute mehr als 300 Videos und Filme, Videoskulpturen und Installationen. Während Datenträger zunächst in Form von Magnetbändern wie U-Matic- und VHS-Kassetten vorlagen, wurden sie zunächst durch optische Träger wie CDs und DVDs und später durch elektronische Datenträger wie USB-Sticks abgelöst. Als Ergebnis der sich schnell ändernden Technologie und des schnellen Zerfalls der Materialien ist Medienkunst äußerst kurzlebig. Aufgrund der zunehmenden Dringlichkeit und des stetigen Wachstums der Sammlung wurde in den Jahren 2014-2016 ein Konservierungsprojekt durchgeführt. Es bildet die Grundlage für die Weiterentwicklung des konservatorischen Umgangs mit der Medienkunstsammlung. Die einzelnen Schritte des Projektes und die Herausforderungen für die Restaurierungsabteilung werden in der Präsentation vorgestellt.

Axel Stockburger | “translation / read my lips”

Seppo Gründler | WHITEOUT

Elisabeth Schimana

Gerda Lampalzer

Richard Kriesche