DigiDic Symposium

 

28 08 2020 – 29 08 2020
LAMES, Sonnenpark, Spratzerner Kirchenweg 81-83, 3100 St. Pölten
In cooperation with FH St. Pölten, FH Joanneum, mur.at and servus.at
______________________________________

Program
The exact schedule of the lectures will be announced short-term.
language: English

Friday, 28 August, 2020
11:00 – 11:30 introduction – Elisabeth Schimana
11:30 – 12:00 opening lecture, Keynote 1 – Gisela Schmalz
12:00 – 12:30 short lectures (10 min. each)
12:30 – 13:00 Keynote 2
13:00 – 13:30 short lectures (10 min. each)
—-
13:30 – 15:00 lunch
—-

15:00 – 15:30 Keynote 3
15:30 – 16:20 short lectures (10 min. each)
16:20 – 17:30 break
17:30 – 19:00 questions + formation of groups
20:00 dinner

Saturday, 29 August, 2020
10:00 – 12:00 group discussions (online: Rebekah Wilson und Louis Cacciuttolo)
12:00 – 12:30 break
12:30 – 13:30 presentation of the group discussions results
13:30 – 14:30 lunch

Keynotes:
Gisela Schmalz | NEW TECHNOLOGIES – NEW POWER STRUCTURES
Representatives of powerful technology companies from the US West Coast and China are pursuing the cross-linking and automation of everything and everyone. And the users behave like their diligent accomplices.
What exactly makes the current Big Tech and Big Data companies so powerful? And why do people allow entities unknown to them to collect data about them and direct them? Gisela Schmalz shows the complex interrelationships and ways out of a techno-induced heteronomy.

Klaudia Zotzmann-Koch (CCC Wien) | So they do have my data. So what?!
What it means, when »they« have my data, is hard to understand. Even more, many legal texts such as general terms and conditions or privacy statements are intentionally incomprehensible and difficult to read. And the advertising industry and authorities deliberately exploit how guileless and convenient we humans are. Our problem as a society is bigger than the buzzword bingo of management levels everywhere would have us believe. But the mystical “digital native” will fix it. Won’t they?

Gero A. E. Egger (GO! Pictures KG) | How XR can be Europe’s second chance to lead the digital industry revolution
The rise of Extended Reality (XR) opens up new ways to interact and join events without the necessity of being physically present in one and the same location. An entire reflection of the physical world is imminent affecting almost every part of our daily lives. From work to education and training to entertainment and arts. But how should we approach this so called “new normal” and what might the XR industry provide today, already?

—-

short lectures:
Margarethe Maierhofer-Lischka (mur.at – Initiative Netzkultur) | beyond the net, thinking. spaces, interfaces, tools for ideas and exchange
as a person living and working across different worldviews and practices, I understand and use digital networked infrastructures as a tool and interface for thinking and doing things. beyond the idea of integrating technology into human existence – as the image of the cyborg may suggest – I argue for searching and questioning the in-between-spaces, the gaps, the threshhold. do/can our digital souls travel at the same speed as the analog ones?

Jogi Hofmüller (mur.at – Initiative Netzkultur) | David and the Goliaths – mur.at and GAFAM
GAFAM – google, amazon, facebook, apple, mircosoft (and some more) shape
the way we see and use the internet today. I will talk about mur.at,
what we do and what role organisations like mur.at can play. Unlike
Goliath GAFAM will not fall from one stone throw, but alternatives are
possible.

Tassilo Pellegrini (FH St. Pölten) | Sway and Swound of Open Data Licensing
Open Data fosters market concentration, even though these mechanisms tend to be obscured by the ostensible non-commercial and public-good character of Open Data initiatives. In particular, the diversification of licensing strategies by commercial market players through a combination of open and closed licensing models contribute to these developments. This talk gives a critical insight into hybrid data licensing strategies, how it contributes to the commercialization of the internet and its impact on public policy.

Seppo Gründler (FH Joanneum) | Surrender or Blender?
Why open source software is not used much in design education and companies.
Most of the designers and students work with proprietary operating-systems, cloud services and software.
What are the benefits and pitfalls for teaching and using open source software in a market driven professional field?
How can we react to the creative-industries demands on the almost total monopoly of the Adobe Cloud  and similar companies?
What are successful examples and why are the students selling their intellectual property but stealing software?

Uschi Reiter (servus. at – Kunst und Kultur im Netz) | No, I do not use ZOOM!
ZOOM, is just one example of software that spread as fast as the Covid 19 virus itself during the pandemic period. I will follow the traces of this phenomenon and report about my experience that a different digital culture is possible. However, I have long since given up hope that the behaviour of a broad mass of people in dealing with digital media will change.

Lona Gaikis | An Exercise In The Heresy Of Data. Art’s Co-dependent Relationship With Social Media
While Big Tech’s reception in the early noughties was split between the critical activism of an invisible network of media artists and the blissful ignorance from commercial fine arts, today’s art world as a whole seems to have formed a particular liaison with its current commodity, social media. How do we keep going against Big Tech and how can we escape our own complicity in affirming its powers?

Norbert MathWhere to Draw the Line?
Despite being around in the FOSS universe for the major part of my digital life,  I still use commercial software in audio production. Increasingly unsatisfied with this fact, I want to present myself as a case study: Is it now the time to abandon completely the commercial field? Or do we still find strategies to cope with the big data collectors?

Eva Ursprung | UpStage: Networked Stages
UpStage is an online platform for cyberformance (networked performance) and an international community of artists, open source software developers and researchers. It was first developed in Aotearoa (NZ) in 2003 (www.upstage.org.nz).

Cyberformance comprises graphics, videos, performing to a webcam, interacting with online audiences, as well as developing scripts and performance materials with remote collaborators. Additionally, it opens a broad range of possibilities for action via mixed-art and mixed reality.

Reni Hofmüller (ecs Medienkunstlabor) |Reflections on daily life practices in the programmation of esc in relation to the tools deployed
The tools used and deployed in the conceptual phase and during the realisation of a piece have an impact on the work itself. At esc mkl, we try to support artists in their creation by being available for talk and debate, and also in the practical setup. Therefore we are keen to point out open standards and free software solution, as these allow the adaptation to the needs of the specific new work legally, and also facilitate that others can benefit from solutions already found for specific challenges. Shown with some concrete examples.

Herbert Waloschek (Chaos Computer Club Wien) | Why dictatorship? How we develop the love of slavery through consumption and entertainment
– What world do we live in?
3000 attributes for everyone on Facebook,
In the USA you can purchase identification and residence of any person.
In Europe: data retention abolished, basic data protection regulation,
Export of personal data to the USA not permitted:
is that enough?
Do the privileges of companies take priority over human rights?

– In what world do we want to live?
Of human rights and the right to a good life

– What can we do?

Martina Eigelsreiter (Büro für Diversität, St. Pölten) | diversity and the right to participate
Diversity includes but is not limited to gender, age, ethnicity, physical abilities/qualities, sexual orientation, religious status, as well as economic or social conditions, educational background, language, geographical location, work experiences, technological infrastructure and computer and information literacy. All of these have to be taken into account when digital information is received or provided but digitization often only focuses on technical progress. In other words: we risk constructing machine intelligence that mirrors a narrow and privileged vision of society, with its old, familiar biases and stereotypes.


This symposium is the initial event for the development of resistant strategies in the form of artistic projects. Based on the results of this symposium and other worklabs, the resulting works will be presented in an exhibition in autumn 2021.

DigiDic Symposium

 

28 08 2020 – 29 08 2020
LAMES, Sonnenpark, Spratzerner Kirchenweg 81-83, 3100 St. Pölten
In Kooperation mit FH St. Pölten, FH Joanneum, mur.at und servus.at
Anmeldung öffentlicher Teil: office@ima.or.at
______________________________________

Programm
Das Symposium gliedert sich in einen öffentlichen, für Publikum zugänglichen, und einen internen Teil.
Die genaue zeitliche Einteilung der Vorträge erfolgt kurzfristig.
Vortragssprache: Englisch

Freitag, 28 08 20
11:00 – 11:30 Einführung – Elisabeth Schimana
11.30 – 12:00 Eröffnungsvortrag, Keynote 1 – Gisela Schmalz
12:00 – 12:30 Kurzvorträge (je 10 min.)
12:30 – 13:00 Keynote 2
13:00 – 13:30 Kurzvorträge (je 10 min.)
——
13:30 – 14:30 Mittagessen
——

14:30 – 15:00 Keynote 3
15:00 – 16:00 Kurzvorträge (je 10 min.)
16:00 – 17:00 Pause
17:00 – 19:00 Fragerunde + Gruppenbildung
20:00 Abendessen

Samstag, 29 08 20
10:00 – 12:00 Gruppenarbeit
12:00 – 12:30 Pause
12:30 – 13:30 Präsentation der Gruppenarbeit
13:30 – 14:30 Mittagessen


Keynotes:
Gisela Schmalz | Neue Technologien – Neue Machtstrukturen
Vertreter mächtiger Technologiekonzerne von der US-Westküste und aus China treiben die Vernetzung und Automatisierung von allem und jedem voran. Und die Nutzenden erweisen sich dabei als deren beflissene Komplizen.

Was genau macht die aktuellen Big Tech- und Big Data-Firmen so mächtig? Und warum lassen Menschen es zu, dass ihnen unbekannte Instanzen Daten über sie sammeln und sie darüber dirigieren? Gisela Schmalz zeigt die komplexen Zusammenhänge sowie Auswege aus einer techno-induzierten Fremdbestimmung auf.

Klaudia Zotzmann-Koch (CCC Wien) | Dann haben die halt meine Daten. Na und?!
Was es bedeutet, wenn »die« meine Daten haben, ist schwer zu begreifen. Mehr noch, viele Rechtstexte wie AGB oder Datenschutzerklärungen sind absichtlich unverständlich und schwer zu lesen. Und die Werbeindustrie, Behörden und anderen Stellen nutzen bewusst aus, wie arglos und bequem wir Menschen sind. Unser Problem als Gesellschaft ist größer, als uns die Buzzwordbingos der Managementebenen allerorts weismachen wollen. Aber der mystische »Digital Native« wird’s schon richten. Oder etwa nicht?

Louis Cacciuttolo (VRrOOm) und Gero A. E. Egger (GO! Pictures KG) | How XR can be Europe’s second chance to lead the digital industry revolution

—–

Kurzvorträge:
Margarethe Maierhofer-Lischka (mur.at – Initiative Netzkultur) | jenseits des netzes, denken. orte, schnittstellen und ausdrucksformen für den austausch von wissen, ideen und praxis
wenn es heißt: unsere seele reist langsamer als unser körper, welcher
geschwindigkeit folgt dann unser digitales selbst? ich verstehe und
nutze vernetzte (digitale) infrastrukturen als schnittstellen zwischen
tun und denken. vielleicht ist es zeit, über das bild des cyborgs
hinauszudenken in die zwischenräume und reibungsflächen zwischen
technologie, welt und menschen.

Jogi Hofmüller (mur.at – Initiative Netzkultur) | David und die Goliaths – mur.at und GAFAM

Tassilo Pellegrini (FH St. Pölten) | Macht und Ohnmacht von Open Data Licensing
Open Data fördert die Marktkonzentration, obwohl dieser Mechanismus durch den angeblichen nichtkommerziellen und gemeinnützigen Charakter von Open Data-Initiativen verschleiert wird. Insbesondere Lizenzstrategien aus offenen und geschlossenen Lizenzmodellen kommerzieller Marktteilnehmer trägt zu diesen Entwicklungen bei. Dieser Vortrag gibt einen kritischen Einblick in hybride Datenlizenzierungsstrategien, wie sie zur Kommerzialisierung des Internets beitragen und Implikationen für eine gemeinwohlorientierte Internet-Policy.

Seppo Gründler (FH Joanneum) | Kapitulieren oder Mitmischen?
Warum Open Source-Software in der Designausbildung und in Unternehmen nicht häufig eingesetzt wird.
Die meisten Designer und Studenten arbeiten mit proprietären Betriebssystemen, Cloud-Diensten und Software.
Was sind die Vorteile und Fallstricke für das Unterrichten und Verwenden von Open Source-Software in einem marktorientierten Berufsfeld?
Wie können wir auf die Anforderungen der Kreativbranche an das fast vollständige Monopol der Adobe Cloud und ähnlicher Unternehmen reagieren?
Was sind erfolgreiche Beispiele und warum verkaufen die Studenten ihr geistiges Eigentum, stehlen aber Software?

Uschi Reiter (servus. at – Kunst und Kultur im Netz) | Nein, ich benutze ZOOM nicht!
ZOOM, ist nur ein Beispiel für Software, die sich während des Lockdowns
der Pandemieperiode so schnell wie der Covid-19-Virus selbst verbreitet
hat.

Ich werde den Spuren dieses Phänomens folgen und über meine Erfahrung
berichten, dass eine andere digitale Kultur möglich ist. Die Hoffnung,
dass sich das Verhalten einer breiten Masse im Umgang mit digitalen
Medien ändern wird, habe ich allerdings längst aufgegeben.

Lona Gaikis | Eine Übung in der Häresie von Daten. Die Co-Abhängigkeit der Kunst von sozialen Medien
Während sich die Rezeption von Big Tech in den frühen neunziger Jahren spaltete zwischen dem kritischen Aktivismus eines unsichtbaren Netzwerks von Medienkünstler*innen und der naiven Ignoranz des kommerziellen Kunstmarkts, scheint die heutige Kunstwelt als Ganze eine besondere Liaison mit dem Produkt, den sozialen Medien, eingegangen zu sein. Wie gehen wir weiter gegen Big Tech vor und wie können wir unserer eigenen Komplizenschaft bei der Stärkung dieser Macht entgehen?

Norbert Math | Bis wohin und nicht weiter?
Obwohl ich in meinem digitalen Leben zum großen Teil in FOSS unterwegs bin, verwende ich im Audio Bereich auch Produktionsmittel aus dem kommerziellen Umfeld – mit wachsendem Unbehagen und Misstrauen. Ich möchte – mich selbst
als Case Study darstellend – skizzieren: Ist der vollständige Umstieg auf FOSS jetzt unabdingbar geworden oder gibt es weitherhin Strategien im Umgagng mit der Datenkrake?

Eva Ursprung | UpStage: Die Bühne im Netz
Die Web-basierte “Cyberformance”-Plattform UpStage  (www.upstage.org.nz) wurde 2003 in Aotearoa (NZ) initiiert und von einer globalen Community von Künstler*innen, Open Source Software-Entwickler*innen und Forscher*innen weiterentwickelt.
“Cyberformance” bezeichnet internetvermittelte Live-Performance und nutzt Technologien des digitalen Theaters, von Chatfunktionen und Multi-User-Kollaboration bis zu Streaming und direkter Publikumsinteraktion. Zusätzlich wird über Mixed-Art und Mixed-Reality ein weites Spektrum an Handlungsmöglichkeiten eröffnet.

Reni Hofmüller (ecs Medienkunstlabor) | Reflexionen über den Alltag der Projektgestaltung im esc mkl in Beziehung zu den eingesetzten Werkzeugen
Die verwendeten Werkzeuge haben einen Einfluss darauf, wie sowohl Konzeption als auch Umsetzung von Werken realisiert werden können. Da wir uns im esc mkl immer darum bemühen, sowohl im Gespräch als auch in der praktischen Umsetzung unterstützend für die KünstlerInnen da zu sein, mit denen wir arbeiten, liegt uns auch daran, in der Wahl der Mittel auf offene Standards und freie Software zu setzen. Einerseits ermöglicht das den KünstlerInnen, bereits Vorhandenes legal an ihre Bedürfnisse anzupassen; andereseits tragen wir dazu bei, dass für spezifische technsiche Herausforderungen Lösungen entstehen, die auch von anderen weiterverwendet und auch wiederum adaptierbar sind. Mit Beispielen aus der Praxis.

Herbert Waloschek (Chaos Computer Club Wien) | Wozu noch Diktatur? Wie wir Dank Konsum und Unterhaltung die Liebe zur Sklaverei entwickeln
– In welcher Welt leben wir?
3000 Attribute für jeden bei Facebook,
In den USA kann man Identifizierung und Aufenthalt jedes Menschen
kaufen.
In Europa: Vorratsdatenspeicherung abgeschafft,
Datenschutz-Grundverordnung,
Export von Personendaten in die USA nicht erlaubt: reicht das?
Haben die Privilegien von Unternehmen Priorität gegenüber
Menschenrechten?

– In welcher Welt wollen wir leben?
Von Menschenrechten und dem Recht auf gutes Leben

– Was können wir tun?
Wo können wir ansetzen?

Martina Eigelsreiter (Büro für Diversität, St. Pölten) | Diversität und das Recht auf Teilhabe
Diversität inkludiert einerseits die Kerndimensionen Geschlecht/Gender, Alter/Generationen, Hautfarbe/Ethnizität/Nationalität, Behinderungen/Beeinträchtigungen, sexuelle Identität sowie Religion und Weltanschauung, schließt andererseits aber auch Aspekte wie wirtschaftliche Situation, soziale Rahmenbedingungen, Ausbildung, Sprache, geografischen Lage, Berufserfahrung/Art des Arbeitsverhältnisses, technologischen Infrastruktur, Computerkenntnisse und Informationskompetenz ein. All diese Aspekte müssen berücksichtigen werden, allerdings steht bei der Digitalisierung oft der technische Fortschritt im Mittelpunkt. Somit riskieren wir eine Maschinenintelligenz-Entwicklung, die eine sehr begrenzte und auch privilegierte Vision der Gesellschaft mit den altbekannten Vorurteilen und Stereotypen widerspiegelt.


Dieses Symposium ist die Initialveranstaltung zur Entwicklung widerständiger Strategien in Form künstlerischer Projekte. Basierend auf den Ergebnissen dieses Symposiums und weiterer Worklabs werden die dadurch entstandenen Arbeiten in einer Ausstellung im Herbst 2021 präsentiert.