Hidden Alliances versteckt verbunden

A book about 20 outstanding female artists in the electronic music/art field

 

„The IMAfiction DVD series and Hidden Alliances publication constitute something of a milestone in the male-dominated genre of electronic music. More than just a much-needed record of the ground-breaking work of pioneering and contemporary artists and curators and the invisible relationships that bind them together, they map the broader connections, whether artistic, technological or conceptual between these women and the genre of electronic music as a whole.“ (Rahma Khazam)

In the book entitled “Hidden Alliances – versteckt verbunden” 20 female artists tell quite a different story and together they weave a fascinating network of interrelationships.
Editor: Elisabeth Schimana, IMA Institut für Medienarchäologie in cooperation with ARS Electronica | Publishing house: Hatje Cantz | Format: 170 x 240, hard cover, 200p, four-color | Language: German, English | Authors: Martin Breindl, Hank Bull, Andreas Fellinger, Doris Ingrisch, Christine Kakaire, Milena Meller, Helga de la Motte-Haber, Lona Gaikis, Rahma Khazam, Sabine Sanjo, Elisabeth Schimana, Hemma Schmutz, Anna Soucek, Gerfried Stocker, Elisabeth Zimmermann, among others.

 

In 2018, the exhibition entitled “Hidden Alliances – Elisabeth Schimana and the IMAfiction series” held at ARS Electronica presented video portraits, artifacts, and performances by Liesl Ujvary (AT), Rebekah Wilson aka Netotschka Nezvanova (NZ), Heidi Grundmann (AT), Eliane Radigue (FR), Andrea Sodomka (AT), Maryanne Amacher (US), Anne La Berge (NL), Electric Indigo (AT), Beatriz Ferreyra (AR, FR), and Elisabeth Schimana (AT).

 

 

 

 

 

The feedback was tremendous, and the idea to make a book based on the exhibition was born. To expand the network, all ten IMAfiction artists were asked to recommend another female artist in the electronic music/art field to be presented in the book.

Liesl Ujvary (AT) – Brigitta Bödenauer (AT) | Rebekah Wilson (NZ) – Darsha Hewitt (CAN/DE) | Heidi Grundmann (AT) – Hildegard Westerkamp (CAN) | Eliane Radigue (FR) – Michèle Bokanowski (FR) | Andrea Sodomka (AT) – Anna Friz (CAN) | Maryanne Amacher (US) – Helga de la Motte (DE) | Anne La Berge (US/NL) – Carla Scaletti (US) | Electric Indigo (AT) – Moor Mother aka Camae Ayewa (US) | Beatriz Ferreyra (FR) – Elsa Justel (ARG) | Elisabeth Schimana (AT) – Cat Hope (AUS)

2005 was the year in which Andrea Sodomka and Elisabeth Schimana jointly established the IMA Institute of Media Archeology. For IMA, there is a clearly positive interrelationship between technology and art by women. Whether this art is now produced by means of processing via devices or programming computers is beside the point. The primary consideration is an active process of coming to terms with technological developments.

IMAfiction is the Institute’s portrait series dedicated to women who create electronic art with a focus on sound.

In this DVD series of five Austrian and five international artists most of the artists chose whom they wanted to be portrayed by. The results are homages that are aesthetically diverse, intimate, and refreshingly free from any conventional film format constraints.

Hidden Alliances versteckt verbunden

Ein Buch über 20 herausragende Künstlerinnen im Bereich elektronische Musik / Kunst

 

„Die DVD-Reihe IMAfiction und die Publikation Hidden Alliances sind als Meilenstein im männlich dominierten Genre der elektronischen Musik zu betrachten. Sie sind mehr als nur eine längst überfällige Erwähnung der bahnbrechenden Arbeit von Pionierinnen, zeitgenössischen Künstlerinnen und Kuratorinnen und den sie verbindenden unsichtbaren Beziehungen, denn sie kartografieren ein in künstlerischer, technologischer und konzeptueller Hinsicht umfassendes Beziehungsgeflecht dieser Künstlerinnen, aber auch des Genres der elektronischen Musik als solches.“ (Raham Khazam)

Im Buch „Hidden Alliances – versteckt verbunden“ erzählen 20 Künstlerinnen eine ganz andere Geschichte und zusammen weben Sie ein faszinierendes Netzwerk von Wechselbeziehungen.
Herausgeberin: Elisabeth Schimana, IMA Institut für Medienarchäologie in Kooperation mit ARS Electronica | Verlag: Hatje Cantz | Format: 170 x 240, Hardcover, 200p, vierfarbig | Sprache: Deutsch, Englisch | Autoren: Martin Breindl, Hankbull, Andreas Fellinger, Doris Ingrisch, Christine Kakaire, Milena Meller, Helga de la Motte-Haber, Lona Gaikis, Rahma Khazam, Sabine Sanjo, Elisabeth Schimana, Hemma Schmutz, Anna Soucek, Gerfried Stocker, Elisabeth Zimmermann unter anderen.

Die Ausstellung „Hidden Alliances – Elisabeth Schimana und die IMAfiction Serie“  präsentierte auf der ARS Electronica 2018 Videoporträts, Artefakte und Performances von Liesl Ujvary (AT), Rebekah Wilson alias Netotschka Nezvanova (NZ), Heidi Grundmann (AT) , Eliane Radigue (FR), Andrea Sodomka (AT), Maryanne Amacher (US), Anne La Berge (NL), Elektro-Indigo (AT), Beatriz Ferreyra (AR, FR) und Elisabeth Schimana (AT).

 

 

 

 

 

Das Feedback war enorm und die Idee, ein Buch auf der Grundlage der Ausstellung zu machen, war geboren. Um das Netzwerk zu erweitern, wurden alle zehn IMAfiction-Künstler gebeten, eine andere Künstlerin aus dem Bereich elektronische Musik / Kunst zu empfehlen, die in dem Buch vorgestellt werden sollte.

Liesl Ujvary (AT) – Brigitta Bödenauer (AT) | Rebekah Wilson (NZ) – Darsha Hewitt (CAN/DE) | Heidi Grundmann (AT) – Hildegard Westerkamp (CAN) | Eliane Radigue (FR) – Michèle Bokanowski (FR) | Andrea Sodomka (AT) – Anna Friz (CAN) | Maryanne Amacher (US) – Helga de la Motte (DE) | Anne La Berge (US/NL) – Carla Scaletti (US) | Electric Indigo (AT) – Moor Mother aka Camae Ayewa (US) | Beatriz Ferreyra (FR) – Elsa Justel (ARG) | Elisabeth Schimana (AT) – Cat Hope (AUS)

2005 gründeten Andrea Sodomka und Elisabeth Schimana gemeinsam das IMA-Institut für Medienarchäologie. Für IMA besteht ein eindeutig positiver Zusammenhang zwischen Technologie und Kunst von Frauen. Ob diese Kunst nun durch Bearbeitung über Geräte oder Programmierung von Computern hergestellt wird, ist nebensächlich. Dabei geht es in erster Linie darum, sich aktiv mit technologischen Entwicklungen auseinanderzusetzen.

IMAfiction ist die Porträtserie des Instituts, die Frauen gewidmet ist, die elektronische Kunst mit dem Fokus auf Klang schaffen.

In dieser DVD-Reihe von fünf österreichischen und fünf internationalen Künstlern wählten die meisten Künstler aus, von wem sie porträtiert werden wollten. Das Ergebnis sind Hommagen, die ästhetisch vielfältig, intim und erfrischend frei von konventionellen Einschränkungen des Filmformats sind.