IMAFICTION SERIES 2024

Presentation of the IMAfiction series in cooperation with the series XX Y X by Jade (Michaela Schwentner) at Echoraum Wien

The concept of the XX Y X series encompasses the work of local and international music artists and representatives of primarily experimental and electronic music and aims to present performances by composers of current contemporary music, electronic performances and collaborations between visual artists and musicians in combinations or solo.

Over the course of 2024, all IMAfiction video portraits will be shown in 8 - 10 events. Wherever possible, the portrayed artist and the filmmaker will be present with a talk and/or live act.

In the first half of the year, this series will be opened by Elisabeth Schimana, the founder of IMA, the portrait of Eliane Radigue will be shown and Electric Indigo will be presented live.

Program

09 01 2024 8pm
echoraum
Sechshauser Straße 66
A-1150 Wien


© Michaela Schwentner

Screening IMAfiction portrait#10 Elisabeth Schimana
A portrait by Seppo Gründler & Johanna Moder (2018)
Presentation: Seppo Gründler

Elisabeth Schimana & Igor Gross
Virus #1.3 Mutation for percussion Solo
live performance

Virus #1.3 Mutation for percussion Solo compositions for a live-generated electronic sound body (audio score) and acoustic instruments (interpretation) It is a battle and synthesis of the two sound bodies. Together they stay alive. Virus #1 is dedicated to individual instrumental groups.

The live-generated electronic body of sound is host and hostess to which the string sounds dock, adapt to it, penetrate it and use it for their replication. At the beginning this body is immune, but in the course of the piece it gives up its resistance, absorbs the string sounds and nothing stands in the way of the virus multiplying.

21 05 2024
echoraum
Sechshauser Straße 66
A-1150 Wien


© Electric Indigo

Screening IMAfiction portrait#04 Electric Indigo + live Performance
A portrait by Michaela Schwentner (2016)

With her long term, concurrent involvements in DJ club scenes, conceptual experimental composition, dancefloor-focused production, and multimedia installation performance, Susanne Kirchmayr has confirmed, several times over, that she truly stands for the intelligent and distinguished interpretation of electronic music. In rejecting the commonplace practice of separating the creative self out amongst project monikers and alias identities, all facets of Kirchmayr’s creative output exist as a single artistic entity: Electric Indigo.

11 06 2024
echoraum
Sechshauser Straße 66
A-1150 Wien


Screening IMAfiction portrait#06 Maryanne Amacher
A portrait by Elisabeth Schimana & Lena Tikhonova (2013)

24 09 2024
echoraum
Sechshauser Straße 66
A-1150 Wien


Rebekah Wilson © Rebekah Wilson


Anne La Berge © Keke Keukelaar

Screening IMAfiction portrait#02 Rebekah Wilson & Screening IMAfiction portrait#07 Anne La Berge

Rebekah Wilson
A portrait by Elisabeth Schimana (2006)

“Rebekah Wilson aka Netochka Nezvanova is pure fiction. She has named herself after the main character of a novel by Fyodor Dostoevski for many years, is a trained composer, moves through electronic networks and has already become an icon during her lifetime. It was only in 2002 that she re-appeared as a physical person, working as curator at the STEIM in Amsterdam. In her current rebirth phase as Rebekah Wilson, she also found her way back to her home country New Zealand from where she set out to be Netochka Nezvanova." (Elisabeth Schimana)

Anne La Berge
A portrait by Rebekah Wilson (2015)

“The powerful nature of Anne La Berge isn’t just that she is a virtuoso performer, or that she embraces technology: it’s that she visibly has fun with it. She mocks and circles around the question, her scientist-daughter mind so sharp that you know she is fully aware of the audience and its perceptions and yet she is not so self-absorbed that she misses being in the moment. Her music and performances do not suffer from cynicism or that kind of post-modern criticism that chides itself from being joyful. Her music is engaging and infectious. As a listener you marvel at her technique and want to know if her stories are true and how she is inspired. As a composer/performer you want to be on stage with her.

We are fortunate to have performers/composers on stage such as Anne. I can say that I felt more welcome onto the stage myself by way of Anne’s presence. Her music and her character is always a strength and I am sure that many many others across the world, as she travels and performs and teaches, have experienced the unwavering joy of her art and her uncompromising sharing of her passions. (Rebekah Wilson)

15 10 2024
echoraum
Sechshauser Straße 66
A-1150 Wien


© Reinhard Mayr

Screening IMAfiction portrait#09 Beatriz Ferreyra
A portrait by Nathalie Singer & Elisabeth Schimana (2017)

05 11 2024
echoraum
Sechshauser Straße 66
A-1150 Wien


© Andrea Sodomka

Screening IMAfiction portrait#05 Andrea Sodomka
A portrait by Gabriele Mathes (2010)

03 12 2024
echoraum
Sechshauser Straße 66
A-1150 Wien


© Liesl Ujvary

Screening IMAfiction portrait#01 Liesl Ujvary
A portrait by Martin Breindl (2006)

21 01 2025
echoraum
Sechshauser Straße 66
A-1150 Wien


© Archiv Eliane Radigue

Screening IMAfiction portrait#04 Eliane Radigue
A portrait by IMA (2006)
Presentation: Elisabeth Schimana

Eliane Radigue has composed electronic music since the sixties. She is the only French woman composer of her generation who can be considered to be a pioneer of this genre, and of minimal music as well.

IMAFICTIONSERIE 2024

Präsentation der IMAfiction Serie in Kooperation mit der Reihe XX Y X von Jade (Michaela Schwentner) im Echoraum Wien

Das Konzept der Reihe XX Y X umfasst das Schaffen lokal und international ansässiger Musik-Akteur:innen und Vertreter:innen primär experimenteller und elektronischer Musik und will Aufführungen von Komponistinnen aktueller zeitgenössischer Musik, elektronische Performances und Kooperationen bildender Künstler:innen mit Musikschaffenden in Kombinationen oder solo präsentieren.

Im Laufe des Jahres 2024 werden in 8 – 10 Veranstaltungen alle IMAfiction Videoportraits gezeigt. Wo immer möglich, wird die jeweils portraitierte Künstlerin und Filmemacher:in mit einem Gespräch und/oder Live-Act präsent sein.

In der ersten Jahreshälfte wird diese Reihe von Elisabeth Schimana, der Gründerin von IMA, eröffnet, das Portrait von Eliane Radigue gezeigt und Electric Indigo live präsentiert.

Programm

09 01 2024 20:00
echoraum
Sechshauser Straße 66
A-1150 Wien


© Michaela Schwentner

Screening IMAfiction portrait#10 Elisabeth Schimana
Ein Portrait von Seppo Gründler & Johanna Moder (2018)
Moderation: Seppo Gründler

Elisabeth Schimana & Igor Gross
Virus #1.3 Mutation für Schlagwerk Solo
Live performance

Virus #1.3 Mutation für Schlagwerk Solo Kompositionen für einen live-generierten elektronischen Klangkörper (Audiopartitur) und akustische Instrumente (Interpretation) Es ist Kampf und Synthese der beiden Klangkörper. Gemeinsam bleiben sie am Leben. Virus #1 widmet sich einzelnen Instrumentengruppen.

Der live generierte elektronische Klangkörper ist Wirt und Wirtin an den sich die Streicherklänge andocken, an ihn anpassen, in ihn hineindringen und zu ihrer Replikation benützen. Zu Beginn ist dieser Körper immun, aber im zeitlichen Verlauf des Stückes gibt er seinen Widerstand auf, nimmt die Streicherklänge in sich auf, und einer Vermehrung der Viren steht nichts mehr im Wege.

21 05 2024
echoraum
Sechshauser Straße 66
A-1150 Wien


© Electric Indigo

Screening IMAfiction portrait#04 Electric Indigo + live Performance
Ein Portrait von Michaela Schwentner (2016)

Ihre langjährige gleichzeitige Präsenz in DJ Clubszenen, konzeptuell experimentellen Kontexten, Dancefloor – fokussierten Produktionen und Multimediainstallations-performances, bestätigten immer wieder, dass Susanne Kirchmayr für eine intelligente und herausragende Interpretation elektronischer Musik steht. Indem sie die gängige Praxis, das kreative Selbst in Projektnamen und Alias-Identitäten aufzuspalten, ablehnt, bilden alle Facetten von Kirchmayr´s kreativem Schaffen eine künstlerische Einheit: Electric Indigo.

11 06 2024
echoraum
Sechshauser Straße 66
A-1150 Wien

<br

Screening IMAfiction portrait#06 Maryanne Amacher
Ein Portrait von Elisabeth Schimana & Lena Tikhonova (2013)

24 09 2024
echoraum
Sechshauser Straße 66
A-1150 Wien


Rebekah Wilson © Rebekah Wilson


Anne La Berge © Keke Keukelaar

Screening IMAfiction portrait#02 Rebekah Wilson & Screening IMAfiction portrait#07 Anne La Berge

Rebekah Wilson
Ein Portrait von Elisabeth Schimana (2006)

“Rebekah Wilson aka Netochka Nezvanova ist Fiction pur. Sie benennt sich jahrelang nach einer Romanfigur von Fjodor Dostojevskij, ist ausgebildete Komponistin, geistert durch die Netze und wird bereits zu Lebzeiten zur Ikone. Erst 2002 taucht sie als physische Person wieder in Erscheinung und ist Kuratorin am STEIM in Amsterdam. In ihrer derzeitigen Rebirth Phase als Rebekah Wilson findet sie auch den Weg zurück in ihr Heimatland Neuseeland, von wo sie aufbrach, um Netochka Netzvanova zu sein." (Elisabeth Schimana)

Anne La Berge
Ein Portrait von Rebekah Wilson (2015)

“Die besondere Stärke von Anne La Berge liegt nicht nur in ihrem virtuosen Spiel oder in ihrem lebhaften Interesse für Technologie – sie hat auch sichtlichen Spaß daran. Ob sie sich nun diesem Thema humorvoll nähert oder es reflektierend umkreist, eines steht außer Zweifel: ihr scharfer, vom Vater wissenschaftlich geschulter Verstand blendet dabei das Publikum und dessen Empfindungen nicht aus, ist sie doch nie so sehr mit sich selbst beschäftigt, dass sie nicht im Hier und Jetzt agieren kann. Ihre Musik und Performances sind frei von jeglichem Zynismus oder jener postmodernen Kritik, die keine Freude zulässt. Ihre Musik ist faszinierend und ansteckend. Als Zuhörerin bewundert man ihre Technik und möchte wissen, ob ihre Geschichten wahr sind und woher sie ihre Inspiration bezieht. Als Composer-Performerin möchte man mit ihr auf der Bühne stehen.

Wir können uns glücklich schätzen, dass es Composer-Performerinnen wie Anne gibt. Ich jedenfalls habe mich auf der Bühne immer dann besonders wohl gefühlt, wenn Anne dabei war. Ihre Musik und ihre Persönlichkeit sind eine schier unerschöpfliche Kraftquelle, und da sie ständig unterwegs ist und in der ganzen Welt performt und unterrichtet, bin ich mir sicher, dass viele, viele andere ebenfalls erlebt haben, wie unerschütterlich ihre Freude an der Kunst ist und wie kompromisslos sie ihre Leidenschaften teilt" (Rebekah Wilson)

15 10 2024
echoraum
Sechshauser Straße 66
A-1150 Wien


© Reinhard Mayr

Screening IMAfiction portrait#09 Beatriz Ferreyra
Ein Portrait von Nathalie Singer & Elisabeth Schimana (2017)

05 11 2024
echoraum
Sechshauser Straße 66
A-1150 Wien


© Andrea Sodomka

Screening IMAfiction portrait#05 Andrea Sodomka
Ein Portrait von Gabriele Mathes (2010)

03 12 2024
echoraum
Sechshauser Straße 66
A-1150 Wien


© Liesl Ujvary

Screening IMAfiction portrait#01 Liesl Ujvary
Ein Portrait von Martin Breindl (2006)

21 01 2025
echoraum
Sechshauser Straße 66
A-1150 Wien


© Archiv Eliane Radigue

Screening IMAfiction portrait#04 Eliane Radigue
Ein Portrait von IMA (2006)
Moderation: Elisabeth Schimana

Seit den 60er Jahren komponiert Eliane Radigue elektronische Musik. Sie zählt zu den bedeutendsten und innovativsten Komponistinnen des 21. Jahrhunderts. Als einzige französische Komponistin ihrer Generation kann Radigue sowohl als Pionierin der elektronischen Musik als auch der Minimal Music bezeichnet werden.