DigiDic - The Exhibition

Call to Digital Self-Defense

The world is hurtling at an incredible pace toward an absolute monopolization by the global digital players. A state unprecedented in the history of mankind. Companies worth billions in the digital economy – Google,Facebook, and co. from the USA and Alibaba from China – are staking their claim for world dominion, which in China is already closely bound with a monolithic political power. The gold – data. The outcome – complete control, a need-generating apparatus calculated by algorithms and the total loss of privacy.

Trust is the staple of our diet; responsibility is something we as users can choose to assume or not; promises are meant to be kept, and anger and powerlessness are what we feel as a result of the constant abuse of our trust.

Taking these concepts as its point of departure and using art objects, interactive installations, objects from the collection of the Museum, as well as workshops, performances, artist talks, and lectures, the exhibition offers not only a glimpse beneath the surfaces but with the handbook being published in conjunction with the exhibition also a manual on digital self-defense.

In team sports, we regain autonomy in the use of our beloved tools!



What You Can Do: Digital Self-Defense
by Klaudia Zotzmann-Koch

In the face of the manifold problems brought on by the digital, it is only human to feel overwhelmed and powerless. It is, however, not necessary to single-handedly crush a multinational corporation in order personally to do something meaningful. Digital self-defense is for you because you know that each of us has something to hide and we all have the right to our privacy. And you are helping not only yourself here, but your family and your friends as well because digital self-defense is – also – a team sport.
more

Whereas in our physical lives we brace ourselves to face robbery, sexual harassment, violent drunks, etc., on the Web it is not always clear who the players are and where the dangers lie. Digital self-defense is about sharpening one’s gaze where things can get delicate in the digital realm. So that you will always know what to do, you will be given practical guidelines to keep the situation from even becoming critical at all. Like in physical life all things need time and practice, and nothing happens overnight. You will be able to implement some of the things from these guidelines immediately, for other parts it might take a few weeks or even a year. The most important thing is a more conscious approach to dealing with the Web and the different players. And if you have read this far, you have already taken the first step.



Autonomy
by Margarethe Maierhofer-Lischka

The fact that a click in Facebook is not just you expressing a “like” but that at the same time it sets in motion a worldwide mechanism of algorithms and data streams, of hard- and software, that the ecological footprint of a search in Google is the equivalent of a cup of coffee, and that every activity and movement made by all of us in digital space is converted into data that can be commercially used, sold, and processed. These often invisible and not directly perceptible connections lead us to the fundamental question: Despite the omnipresent dogmas of individualism, how much autonomy and power to act does the digital age actually give us?
more

We examine the concept of autonomy at the interface between physical and digital space. Analogous to the legally anchored basic needs set down in constitutions and human rights charters, it is now high time we formulated a set of basic digital needs which do not only apply to the sphere of the individual but also to the sphere of the collective because cyberspace is essentially an interconnected space in which private and public areas mix and overlap in complex and manifold ways.
 
Our brainstorming produced this initial list of basic needs:
a) The need for communication
b) The need for information
c) The need for functionality and practicality of systems and tools
d) The need for self-determination and sovereignty in dealing with systems and tools
e) The need for trust in technologies
 
Complete autonomy in the sense of full individual freedom to make decisions and shape life on every level is not possible in digital space because networked structures are always linked to and dependent on other agencies (people, devices, algorithms, codes, programs). Autonomy in digital space, therefore, becomes a realm of possibilities and interdependencies for deciding and shaping, becomes a search for consensus – a notion in stark contrast with the absolute concept of the “autonomy of art” as it has been passed down to us through history.
 
Autonomy is not a state but a process of negotiation that needs contrary counterparts and confrontations: what are we trying to gain independence or autonomy from? What is the aim of this independence and which values does it stand for? Where do we draw the line between our own independence and that of the collective, which forms does collective autonomy take? The concept of (digital) autonomy each of us has depends on the background, context, and skills we as individuals bring to the table. The aim of our work group is to address this topic together and to explore the shared and individual needs and conceptions of the autonomy of our digital selves.

With
project management: Elisabeth Schimana / advisory board: Seppo Gründler _ Eva Ursprung _ Tassilo Pellegrini _ Martina Eigelsreiter / exhibition design: Christian Herzog _ Serdar Songür / audio design: Elisabeth Schimana _ Seppo Gründler / graphic design: Nora Bischof _ Andreas Rathmanner / educational program: Klaudia Zotzmann-Koch / translation: Kimi Lum _ Jacqueline Csuss / organisation: Anita Hofmann

DigiDic - Die Ausstellung

Aufruf zur digitalen Selbstverteidigung

Diese Welt bewegt sich in einer unglaublichen Geschwindigkeit auf eine absolute Monopolisierung der globalen digitalen Player zu. Ein Zustand den es in der Geschichte der Menschheit noch nie gegeben hat. Milliardenschwere Unternehmen in der Digitalwirtschaft treten eine Weltherrschaft an, die in China bereits mit einer monolithischen politischen Macht verknüpft ist. Das Gold – Daten. Das Resultat – die totale Kontrolle, eine von Algorithmen errechnete Bedürfnisschaffungsmaschinerie und der Verlust jeglicher Privatsphäre.

Vertrauen ist die Grundnahrung, Verantwortung können wir als User:innen übernehmen, Versprechen sollten eingehalten werden und Wut und Ohnmacht verspüren wir ob des permanenten Missbrauchs unseres Vertrauens.

Mit Kunstobjekten, interaktiven Installationen, Objekten aus der Sammlung des Museums, Worshops, Performances, Artist Talks und Vorträgen vermittelt die Ausstellung entlang dieser Begriffe einen Blick hinter die Oberflächen und gibt mit dem dazu erscheinenden Handbuch Anleitungen zur digitalen Selbstverteidigung.

Im Teamsport erobern wir uns die Autonomie in der Nutzung unserer geliebten Werkzeuge zurück!



Das kannst du tun: digitale Selbstverteidigung
von Klaudia Zotzmann-Koch

Gegenüber den vielfältigen Problemen im Digitalen ist es nur menschlich, sich überwältigt und machtlos zu fühlen. Doch man muss nicht einen Weltkonzern eigenhändig zerschlagen, um selbst etwas Sinnvolles zu tun. Digitale Selbstverteidigung ist für dich, weil du weißt, dass jede:r von uns etwas zu verbergen und ein Recht auf die eigene Privatsphäre hat. Und damit hilfst du nicht nur dir selbst, sondern auch deiner Familie und deinen Freunden. Denn digitale Selbstverteidigung ist – auch – ein Teamsport.
more

Wo wir uns im physischen Leben gegen Raub, sexuelle Belästigung, gewalttätige Betrunkene usw. wappnen, ist es im Netz undurchsichtiger, wer die Akteure und was die Bedrohungen sind. Bei digitaler Selbstverteidigung geht es darum, den Blick zu schärfen, wo es im Digitalen brenzlig werden kann. Damit du immer weißt, was zu tun ist, bekommst du einen praktischen Leitfaden an die Hand, damit es erst gar nicht kritisch wird. Wie im physischen Leben braucht alles Zeit und Übung und geht nicht von heute auf morgen. Manches aus dem Leitfaden wirst du sofort umsetzen, anderes in ein paar Wochen oder erst in einem Jahr. Das Wichtige ist, bewusster mit dem Netz und den unterschiedlichen Akteuren umzugehen. Und wenn du bis hier gelesen hast, hast du den ersten Schritt schon getan.



Autonomie
von Margarethe Maierhofer-Lischka

Dass ein Klick in Facebook nicht nur ein Ausdruck von “gefällt mir” bedeutet, sondern gleichzeitig eine weltweite Maschinerie von Algorithmen und Datenströmen, von Hard- und Software in Gang setzt, dass der ökologische Fußabdruck einer Suche in Google dem Äquivalent einer Tasse Kaffee entspricht, und dass jede Aktivität und Bewegung von uns allen im digitalen Raum in Daten verwandelt wird, die sich kommerziell nutzen, verkaufen, verwerten lassen - diese oft unsichtbaren und nicht direkt fühlbaren Zusammenhänge stellen ganz grundlegend in Frage, wie viel Autonomie und Handlungsmacht uns das digitale Zeitalter trotz des omnipräsenten Dogmas des Individualismus wirklich lässt.
more

Wir gehen den Fragen nach Autonomie am Schnittpunkt zwischen physischem und digitalem Raum nach. Analog zu den gesetzlich verankerten Grundbedürfnissen, die sich beispielsweise in Verfassungen und der Menschenrechtscharta finden, ist es an der Zeit, digitale Grundbedürfnisse zu formulieren, die nicht nur die Sphäre des Individuums betreffen, sondern auch die Sphäre des Gemeinschaftlichen, denn der Cyberspace ist im Wesentlichen ein vernetzter Raum, in dem sich Bereiche des Privaten und Öffentlichen auf vielfältige Weise mischen und überlagern.
 
Zu diesen Grundbedürfnissen zählen wir vorerst:
a) das Bedürfnis nach Kommunikation
b) das Bedürfnis nach Information
c) das Bedürfnis nach Funktionalität und Zweckmäßigkeit von Systemen und Werkzeugen
d) das Bedürfnis nach Selbstbestimmung und Souveränität im Umgang mit Systemen und Werkzeugen
e) das Bedürfnis nach Vertrauen in Technologien
 
Die völlige Autonomie im Sinne einer gänzlich individuellen Entscheidungs- und Gestaltungsfreiheit auf allen Ebenen ist im digitalen Raum nicht möglich, da vernetzte Strukturen immer Verbindungen und Dependenzen mit anderen Agencies (Personen, Geräten, Algorithmen, Codes, Programmen) beinhalten. Autonomie entfaltet sich im digitalen Raum also als Spielfeld aus Entscheidungs- und Gestaltungsmöglichkeiten und Abhängigkeiten, als eine Suche nach Konsensfeldern, ganz im Gegensatz zu einem Absolutum, wie es etwa der historisch gewachsene Begriff der ::Autonomie der Kunst:: vorstellt.
 
Autonomie ist kein Zustand, sondern ein Verhandlungsprozess, der auch Gegenbilder und Auseinandersetzungen braucht: von was wollen wir uns unabhängig, autonom machen? Worauf hin zielt diese Unabhängigkeit und welche Werte setzen wir damit? Wo verläuft die Grenze zwischen eigener Unabhängigkeit und der Gemeinschaft, welche Formen hat kollektive Autonomie? Je nachdem, welchen Hintergrund, Kontext und welche Fähigkeiten wir als Menschen mitbringen, entwickeln wir eigene Vorstellungen von (digitaler) Autonomie. Darüber in einen Austausch zu kommen und herauszufinden, welche gemeinsamen und individuellen Bedürfnisse und Vorstellungen von Autonomie wir hinsichtlich unseres digitalen Selbst haben, ist Ziel unserer Arbeitsgruppe.

Mit
Projektleitung: Elisabeth Schimana / Advisory Board: Seppo Gründler _ Eva Ursprung _ Tassilo Pellegrini _ Martina Eigelsreiter / Ausstellungsdesign: Christian Herzog _ Serdar Songür / Audiodesign: Elisabeth Schimana _ Seppo Gründler / Grafikdesign: Nora Bischof _ Andreas Rathmanner / Vermittlung: Klaudia Zotzmann-Koch / Übersetzung: Kimi Lum _ Jacqueline Csuss / Organisation: Anita Hofmann